Thursday 3 March 2016

World Book Day

World Book Day

Today is World Book Day in the UK and Ireland, so we're celebrating by taking a look at the Poldark novels by Winston Graham. There are twelve books in the series in total, the first, Ross Poldark, was published in 1945 and the last, Bella Poldark, was published in 2002. They have of course been famously adapted for television, first in the 1970s, when it went on to become one of the biggest shows of the day, and again to huge success in 2015.

All 12 Poldark novels

Winston Graham wrote the first four novels in the late 1940s and early 1950s: Ross Poldark, Demelza, Jeremy Poldark and Warleggan, cover the first period of time in the novels and tell the story of Ross and Demelza. Winston Graham came back to the series in the 1970s, publishing a further three novels: The Black Moon, The Four Swans and The Angry Tide. He then took another break before returning to the series in the 1980s, after the success of the first BBC adaptation.

Ross Poldark is the first novel in the series,
published in 1945

The books written in the 1980s are set later in time and whilst still featuring Ross and Demelza, also feature a host of characters from the next generation. The Stranger From the Sea was published in 1981, followed by The Miller's Dance, The Loving Cup,and The Twisted Sword in 1990 and finally, Bella Poldark in 2002. There was a TV adaptation the The Stranger From the Sea in the 1980s, which was poorly received, but the rest of the later novels have never been adapted, so if the present television series continues for the planned five series it will be the first time they have been adapted.

Demelza is the second novel in the series,
adapted as part of series 1

The first series of the BBC's 2015 adaptation of Poldark covers the first two novels, Ross Poldark and Demelza. Series 2, due to air this autumn, will cover the novels Jeremy Poldark and Warleggan. Of course many fans have read these books so, in celebration of World Book Day, tell us your favourite Poldark book.  Comment below or let us know on Twitter or Facebook.

Bella Poldark is the final Poldark novel,
 published in 2002

Related links:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.